top of page

What I'm Bringing on a Long Road Trip

So I'm going on a ski trip with my family this week (check out my last post) and I don't have a phone. I know, the worst possible combo. :) But seriously, the ride is somewhere around 12 hours, which isn't the longest road trip I've been on, but it isn't fun.

In this post I'll be listing things that I'm bringing in the van that we're taking to keep me occupied. That doesn't include a phone!

 

Sleeping Mask

To be honest I don't really use sleeping masks a lot; But since it will be light outside almost the entire time that we are driving, I thought "why not?" Also, sleeping is a great way to pass time! :)

Books

I'm bringing horse books. :) Books are a great way to pass time on a long road trip, and they can teach you a lot of things too!

Notebook

This is a must for me, when I get bored I pull out a piece of paper or a notepad and I write down my thoughts or some doodles. Just don't forget to bring pencils or pens, I've made that mistake before, it was not fun. :/

Snacks

I personally can not last more than 4 hours without eating anything, and if I get food, I will eat it and it occupies me. Plus, food is amazing!

Ipod

Music is a GREAT way to pass time, literally hours can pass when you only feel like you've been listening for five minutes, it can also help if you are trying to sleep.

Change of Clothes

You never know how the weather might change when you get to a different state, I'm bringing a jacket, an extra pair of socks and some sweatpants to put over my shorts.

Water

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE bring water, it will save you several trips to gas stations to buy plastic water bottles! (although you might have to go to the bathroom too so I guess it kind of evens out) I always feel like I drink more when I'm bored, which is good because water literally helps you in too many ways to count!

Blanket and Travel Pillow

Along with a sleeping mask, these items will help you fall asleep much faster. If you haven't noticed yet, I like food and sleep. :)

Sunglasses

If you don't want to sleep but the sun is in your eyes - okay, I don't really think I need to explain what sunglasses do.. Bring a pair of these!

Cards

Cards or other games are great for passing time and having fun, whether you have someone to play with or you're playing solitaire!

Obviously this is not everything that you will need if you are a driver or are going somewhere different than I am. These are just things that I am bringing, other things to bring are money, keys, gum, chapstick, etc.

I hope this helped a few people in some ways!

bottom of page